10 Years Ago

May 2, 2010-Grand Rapids High School senior guards Michael Johnson and Erik Stark were named Co-All Iron Range Boys Basketball Players of the Year. Other area players on the All-Area team are Rick Flom, Bigfork, Damon Benham, Deer River, Zach Konerza, Hill City, Kevin Rabbers, Grand Rapids, and Justin Peratalo, Nick Emanuel and Zach Pochucha, all of Nashwauk-Keewatin.

May 2, 2010-The GRG boys tennis team downed Hibbing 4-3. Winning doubles matches for the Thunderhawks were Evan Peterson/Austin Stefanich, Eric Stefanich/Gus Fedje-Johnston, and Ryan Dumin/Charlie Roy. Winning the decisive third singles match was Brice Becker .

May 2, 2010-In softball action, Grand Rapids lost to Cloquet 3-2 as Anya Olson was losing pitcher.

May 2, 2010-The Rapids boys and girls track and field teams both took first in the Webb LaBeau Track Invitational in Grand Rapids. T’Hawk girls taking first were Jenna Gillson, 100 hurdles and 300 hurdles, Lindsy Mattson, 100 dash, 200 dash, and long jump, Kelby Kleinendorst, 400 dash, and Kahla Erickson, 800 run. Boys finishing first were Jonathan Markey, 110 hurdles, Dan McGuire, 400 dash, Kent Koerbitz, 300 hurdles, Jake Virkus, high jump, Nate Mondry, pole vault, and Alex Siikanen, discus.

May 2, 2010-The Rapids girls golf team won the Ranger Invitational. Katie Sheetz and Mikky Kromy earned All-Tournament honors.

May 2, 2010-The ICC softball team, 39-5 for the season and 19-1 in conference play, swept a doubleheader from Central Lakes. Emma Nelson, Karly Ackerman, Kristina Leppanen and Hannah Benzie led the way for the Vikings.

May 2, 2010-In baseball play, Greenway tipped Deer River 6-5. Derek Bundy and Adam Mendoza led the Raiders while Travis Kane, Lucas Benson and Damon Benham led the Warriors.

May 2, 2010-Jeremy Strom of Hibbing was named Boys Swimmer of the Year. Rapids athletes on the All-Area team are Nick Christenson, Troy Torgerson, Carter Rohling, David Kellin, Brian Bustrom, Zach Bjorklund, Nathan Craven and Andy Carlisle.

May 2, 2010-Mike Fuenffinger of Hibbing was named the Wrestler of the Year. Area grapplers on the All-Area team are Zach Bainville, Mitchell Jobe, Jamison Evans, Nick Hopkins, and Ryan Bowers of Grand Rapids, Cody Mentges, Deer River, and Nick Bruss, Aaron Trunt and Orrin Holmbeck of Nashwauk-Keewatin-Greenway.

May 5, 2010-The ICC baseball team won the Northern Division championship, winning four of six games.

May 5, 2010-The Rapids baseball team lost to Eagan 6-2 and to Eden Prairie 7-2. Jake Bischoff, John Skrbec and Zach Dick stood out for the Thunderhawks. Hibbing beat Greenway 6-5 despite three hits from the Raiders’ Zach Thompson and two from Adam Mendoza.

May 5, 2010-The Rapids softball team beat Hibbing 7-6 for its first win. Anya Olson was winning pitcher while Syd Helmbrecht had two hits.

25 Years Ago

April 30, 1995-The ICC baseball team extended its winning streak to 14 games by sweeping a doubleheader from Hibbing by the scores of 5-0 and 4-0. Todd Robinson fired a two-hitter in the first game with Dan Dechaine, Chad Truman and Sean Burggraf all having two hits. In the second game, Adam Carlson and Brian Simonson combined for the shutout on the mound while Burggraf and Jamie Spry led the offense.

April 30, 1995-Aaron Murphy of Grand Rapids excelled in the recent Chicago Showcase, which features the best high school hockey players in the country. He scored nine points overall in the tournament.

April 30, 1995-The ICC softball team ripped Mesabi by the scores of 12-0 and 22-0. Leah Petrich pitched both complete game shutouts. Leading the offense were Petrich, Deanna Guertin, Laurie Larson, and Erin Elijah.

April 30, 1995-The season for the new professional baseball team to be located in Hibbing will begin June 7.

April 30, 1995-In area baseball action, Duluth East beat Greenway 11-7. Leading the Raider offense were Travis Anderson and R.J. Herdman. Nashwauk-Keewatin swept a doubleheader from Albrook, winning 11-10 and 5-2. Jeff Marolt scored the winning run on a passed ball for the winning run in the first game while Brian Gangl, Eric Gangl and Vince Gangl led the offense. Brian Gangl was winning pitcher in both games. Deer River nipped Hill City 5-3 to win the championship of the Hill City Invitational. Mike Fairbanks was winning pitcher while Shawn Wahlstrom had a double and a home run for the Warriors. Hill City ripped Floodwood 17-5 as Tom Cuellar, Eric Craine, Butch Murphy and Jason Burt all had two hits.

April 30, 1995-In softball action, Floodwood-Toivola-Meadowlands won the championship of the Deer River Tournament, beating Ely in the title game. The Polar Bears beat Deer River 9-8 in eight innings in the tournament as Cari Benham and Nicole Goggleye led the Warriors. Greenway beat Brainerd 13-5 as Abbie Feldt was winning pitcher. Angie Norgord and Jackie Moran led the Raider hitters. Nashwauk-Keewatin tipped Littlefork-Big Falls 6-5 as Jessica Denne drove in the winning run.

April 30, 1995-The Rapids girls track and field team took first at a meet in Monticello. The lone first place finisher for the Indians was Erikka Grose in the shot put. Placing second were Gina Zakariasen, Kris Ogle, Aimee Ross and Rachel Sackett.

May 3, 1995-The Rapids boys tennis team blanked Duluth Denfeld 7-0. Winning singles matches were Luke Schipper, Andy Yeager, Nick Brown and Takasumi Tanabe while the doubles teams of James Winberg/Tim McMullin, Craig Pierce/Eric Grotberg, and Josh Bobich/Chris Hodgson all won.

May 3, 1995-Chuck Roskoski of Grand Rapids, playing in the 45 Plus B Division, won that division at the Minnesota State Singles Racquetball Tournament.

May 3, 1995-Area track and field athletes taking first at the Chisholm Early Bird were Jesse Miller, Deer River, 800 run and high jump, Thor Johnson, Bigfork, shot put, and Joe Olson, Deer River, pole vault.

50 Years Ago

May 4, 1970-Walleyes are making their annual spawning run at Little Cutfoot Sioux. Regional fisheries manager Harley Hanson of Grand Rapids says that about 4.75 million eggs were taken.

May 4, 1970-The Rapids golf team won the annual Grand Rapids Invitational Tournament in overtime play with Bemidji. Dave Howe of Bemidji was medalist with a 74. Dean Pennala of the Indians was third with 76 while Chip Wagner had 77, Ned Fowler, 78, and Pete Bauer, 79.

May 7, 1970-In baseball action, Greenway beat Rapids 3-1 as Tom Peluso hurled a one-hitter and hit a home run for the Raiders. In another game, Grand Rapids trounced Nashwauk-Keewatin 13-4.

May 7, 1970-The Indian track and field team won a six-team meet at Coleraine. For Rapids, Pat Wiswell won the high hurdles, Duane Gannon the mile run, Fred Wilson, long jump, Jay Columbus, pole vault, and Gene Wohlsdorf won the shot put. Bruce Ogle of Greenway won the 440 while Greg Risse was first in the discus.

75 Years Ago

May , 1945-Not available due to library closure.

100 years ago

May 5, 1920-Not available due to library closure.

120 years Ago

May 5, 1900-Not available due to library closure.


Recommended for you

Load comments