10 Years Ago

March 21, 2010-The Nashwauk-Keewatin High School girls basketball team lost to Barnum 55-23 in its first game of the Minnesota State Girls Basketball Tournament. Elizabeth Sletten led the Spartans with 11 points.

March 21, 2010-Braham defeated the Deer River boys basketball team 89-62 in the semifinals of the Section 7AA Boys Basketball Tournament. Thomas Schultz had 14 points for the Warriors.

March 21, 2010-Two men were inducted into the Grand Rapids Wrestling Hall of Fame. They are Ken Villebro and Karl Greniger.

March 21, 2010-The Duluth Area All Stars defeated the Iron Range Stars 6-4 in the Minnesota Army National Guard High School All-Star Series in Virginia. Jack McFarlane of Cloquet was MVP for the series. Rapids hockey players on the Iron Range squad were goalie Dom DeGuiseppi, defenseman Zach Dick and forwards Patrick Moore and John Skrbec.

March 21, 2010-The second annual High School Seniors’ Border Battle All Star Basketball Games are set with Minnesota facing Wisconsin in both boys and girls competition. Area players on the girls team are Adrianna Ivanovic and Megan Powell of Bigfork, and Lindsey Kingsbury of Nashwauk-Keewatin. Area boys on the team are Michael Johnson and Erik Stark of Grand Rapids.

March 24, 2010-The Bantam A hockey team from Grand Rapids gained a berth in the state tournament.

March 24, 2010-The Itasca softball team went 8-0 to win the Irish Dome Tournament in Rosemount. Katie McBride, Emma Johnson, Cassie Clarke, Brooke Geisler, Jenna Johansen, Brianna Rosenow and Karly Ackerman led the way.

25 Years Ago

March 19, 1995-The Greenway, Hibbing and Virginia will be playing hockey in Class AA next year as respective school boards approved the move from Class A.

March 19, 1995- Gina DeWitt, a senior at Drake University and a Deer River High School graduate, placed 14th in the 800 meter run at the NCAA Indoor Track Championships. She closed out her indoor career at Drake with two school records and a 10-meet winning streak that covered all the 1994 campaign and the first three meets of 1995.

March 22, 1995-Four local high school hockey players have been named to the All-Area Team. They are forwards Aaron Murphy and Aaron Miskovich of Grand Rapids and defenseman Jim Gernander and forward Jerry Gernander of Greenway.

50 Years Ago

March 23, 1970-The Cohasset Cougars retained their long dominance of the Grand Rapids Elementary Wrestling Tournament as they advanced seven boys to championships. Placing first in their weight divisions were Brian Burley, Chris Baker, Steve Perrington, Randy Olson, Dean Randell, Greg Mathews, Tom Dahline, Doug Green, Gene Heiniemi, John Bauer, Bob Brown, Darrell Holt, Bruce Seeling, Jim Hietala and Dave Allen.

March 23, 1970-The Rainbow Peewee hockey team placed fourth in the region tournament. Members of the team – coached by Bob DeGrio – were Bernie Orhn, Tom Madson, Steve Fleming, Tony Jacobson, Tim McDonald, Rick McDonald, John Trembath, Don Schroeder, Mark Schroeder, Dave Madson, Erin Roth, Rob Grooms, Gil Bogle, Bill Hoolihan, Tom Downing, Brett Billeadeau and Doug Bymark.

March 26, 1970-Dan Dilworth was hired as coach at Itasca State Junior College. He is a 1960 graduate of International Falls High School and was a popular choice among hockey buffs in this area.

March 26, 1970-Top scores at the Itasca Gun Club were compiled by Dick Bunker, Dick Rudquist, John Yurrick, Ed Johnson, Darrel Lauber, Art Mariska and Gary Sutherland.

75 Years Ago

March 21, 1945-Not available due to library closure.

100 years ago

March 24, 1920-Not available due to library closure.

120 years Ago

March 24, 1900-Not available due to library closure.


Recommended for you

Load comments