• Area students named to the dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse for the spring semester of the 2016-17 academic year, ending May 2017 were: Austin Bryan Stefanich, Coleraine, exercise and sport science major: physical education; and Dakota Jean Flohaug, Grand Rapids, community health education major.

• Jaqueline Gerlach of Coleraine was awarded a scholarship from Catholic United Financial.

• Danielle Bruns, Nashwauk, received a Bachelor of Science in community psychology, Cum Laude from St. Cloud State University on May 5.

• John Romanik, Cohasset, computer science and information systems, was named to the University of Wisconsin-River Falls spring semester dean’s list.

• Sarah Szymaniak of Grand Rapids graduated Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelor degree in outdoor education-natural history and interpretation from Northland College.

• Local students named to the spring semester dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College include: Maggie Swanson, Deer River; Zackery Allison, Grand Rapids; and Reece Porter, Warba.

• Mandie Sigfrinius, Cohasset, was named to the dean’s list at St. Cloud Technical and Community College spring 2017.

• Anneka Harris, daughter of Bryan and Sue Harris of Eagle Nest Lodge, Deer River, was awarded a scholarship from the Minnesota Resort and Campground Association. Harris graduated from Grand Rapids High School this year and will attend the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities to pursue a career in the field of health sciences. Harris learned early on that running a resort is more of a lifestyle than a job and that customer service and flexibility are good life skills. “Having the ability to wake up every morning ready to take on whatever gets thrown your way is key to running a successful resort,” she said. “I think the experience I have had dealing with these situations will help me in the future as I am thrown the curveballs of life.” Harris hopes to travel the world, but would not be surprised to find herself drawn back to the resort business someday.

• Chelsea Wilson of Hill City graduated with a Master of Arts degree in publishing and writing at Emerson College’s 137th commencement ceremony on May 14.

• Receiving degrees during North Dakota State University’s spring 2017 graduation were: Kyla Walstead Kane, Bovey, BS, hospitality and tourism management with honors; John William Patton, Bovey, BS marketing; Lorayne Seelye, Deer River, MS health, nutrition and exercise science; Nicole Beverly LaValle, Cohasset, BSN nursing with honors; and Jake David Baldwin, Grand Rapids, PHARMD, pharmacy.

• Sara Smokrovich, daughter of Jim and Melissa Smokrovich, was named to the spring 2017 dean’s list at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. She is a junior majoring in advertising and graphic design and studying abroad fall semester 2017 in Vienna, Austria.

• Named to the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Dean’s List for the 2017 spring semester were: Arianna Denney, Grand Rapids, education and human sciences; and Ceana Olson, Max, arts and sciences.

• Tabitha Hanson, Grand Rapids, daughter of Dennis and Mary Hanson, was named to the second semester, 2017-18 dean’s list at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota.

• Abraham Margo, Cohasset, graduated from Butler University in Indianapolis in May. Margo was a Biology B.S. major.

• Madison Reid, the child of Nancy Reid of Grand Rapids, has been named to the dean’s list of Macalester College for academic achievement during the spring semester of the 2016-2017 school year. A graduate of Grand Rapids High School, Reid was a senior at Macalester last spring.

• Nathan Bean and Skyeler Elhard, both of Grand Rapids, received degrees from the University of Minnesota, Morris. Bean received a bachelor of arts degree in political science with high distinction. Elhard received a bachelor of arts degree in history and German studies. Both were named to the dean’s list for the spring 2017 semester.

• Shiloh Schlauderaff of Grand Rapids, an incoming first-year student in the Iowa State University College of Human Sciences, participated in orientation on the Ames campus, June 21-22. Schlauderaff has opted to major in event management.

• The following students were named to the second semester dean’s honor list at Concordia College: Katherine Anderson, Cohasset; Bailey Tillman, Cohasset; Marah Evans, Grand Rapids; Ellen Clusiau, Keewatin; and Andrea Bonneville, Nashwauk.

• Zachary Turner, Nashwauk, recently graduated from St. Olaf College in chemistry. He is a graduate of Nashwauk-Keewatin High School and the son of Ronald and Eva Turner.

• Named to the St. Olaf College dean’s list for the spring 2017 semester were: William (Gus) Fedje-Johnston, Grand Rapids, chemistry, Grand Rapids High School, son of John and Julie Fedje-Johnston; and Lindsay Mattei, Grand Rapids, economics, Grand Rapids High School, daughter of Robert and Brenda Mattei.

• Logan Thoennes is the recipient of an Excellence Scholarship and a Music Performance Scholarship to attend Concordia College, Moorhead, Minn. Thoennes, a graduate of Grand Rapids High School, is the son of Leigh Alderson, Bovey, Minn., and Joshua Thoennes, Grand Rapids, Minn.

• Area students receiving the University of Wisconsin-Stout Chancellor’s Award for the spring 2017 semester include: Lauren Brison, Nashwauk, BS, engineering technology; and Brooke Bond, Taconite, BS, dietetics.

• Kory A. Jorgensen, Bigfork, received a Bachelor of Science in forest management from The University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point during the university’s spring commencement ceremonies.


Recommended for you

Load comments