ST. PAUL — Minnesota law enforcement officials cited 678 drivers in the first week a new law barring holding a cell phone behind the wheel took effect.

Minnesota deputies and troopers cited 678 drivers across the state for violating the law between Aug. 1 and 7, Department of Public Safety spokespeople said. The new law makes it illegal to hold a phone behind the wheel or otherwise swipe, type, scroll or view content on their cellphones.

Troopers saw the largest number of violations in Hennepin County, where 286 drivers were cited in the law's first week in effect. Those who violate the law aimed at reducing distracted-driving-related crashes are subject to a $50 ticket plus court fees on the first offense, which could add up to around $130, and the second and later tickets are $275 plus court fees.

Citations by County

· Aitkin: 1

· Anoka: 15

· Becker: 21

· Benton: 2

· Beltrami: 3

· Big Stone: 2

· Blue Earth: 8

· Carlton: 1

· Carver: 17

· Cass: 1

· Chisago: 2

· Clay: 11

· Clearwater: 1

· Cottonwood: 3

· Crow Wing: 9

· Dakota: 60

· Faribault: 2

· Goodhue: 1

· Hennepin: 286

· Itasca: 5

· Jackson: 4

· Kandiyohi: 3

· Lyon: 2

· McLeod: 5

· Meeker: 3

· Morrison: 4

· Nicollet: 2

· Nobles: 2

· Olmsted: 5

· Pennington: 2

· Pipestone: 1

· Polk: 3

· Pope: 3

· Ramsey: 79

· Rice: 7

· Rock: 4

· Scott: 10

· Sherburne: 6

· Sibley: 1

· St. Louis: 20

· Stearns: 7

· Stevens: 1

· Washington: 24

· Winona: 1

· Wright: 28

0
0
0
0
0

Recommended for you

Load comments