Logout|My Dashboard

Nominations accepted for Itasca County Outstanding Senior Citizen Award - Grand Rapids Herald-Review: Special Sections

Nominations accepted for Itasca County Outstanding Senior Citizen Award

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Related Galleries

Posted: Wednesday, March 9, 2011 12:00 pm

The deadline for nominations for the 2011 Itasca County Outstanding Senior Citizen Award (OSCA) is quickly approaching. Residents of Itasca County must submit their nominations for this award by July 15, 2011.

The Minnesota State Fair Board and the Minnesota State Fair Foundation and the Minnesota Federation of County Fairs honor outstanding senior volunteers with Outstanding Senior Citizens awards each year. The OSVA recognizes the vital role of senior volunteers in communities across Minnesota. Volunteers carry out the mission of providing programs and services that older adults need to maintain their independence. Outstanding seniors are judged on leadership, diversity of accomplishments, variety of volunteer services performed, quantity of accomplishments and quality of activities.

To receive this distinguished award, nominees must be a resident of Itasca County, be 70 years of age or over by June 1, 2011, and must currently be performing unpaid volunteer activities that demonstrate their commitment to their local community. Only volunteer services performed after the age of 65 are considered by the judges. The two nominees selected for Itasca County will be recognized and will receive their award at the Itasca County "Senior Day at the Fair" on Friday, Aug. 19, 2011.

Each year, two individuals (one male and one female) are selected from nominations in each county throughout the state and are recognized at their county fair. Each county Fair Board submits these two individuals and their volunteer history to the Minnesota Board on Aging. Judging of nominations is conducted by a panel of nine representatives from the three sponsoring agencies. Four individuals are selected, two runners-up and two winners. All awards are signed by the Governor and presented on Senior Day at the Minnesota State Fair, which will be held on September 1, 2011.

Official nomination forms and instructions are available at ElderCircle, 1105 NW 4th Street in Grand Rapids, or by calling 218-999-9233. The OSVA selection committee will be accepting nominations until 4:30 p.m. on July 15, 2011 at the ElderCircle office.

Itasca County Outstanding Senior Volunteer Award Recipients: 1971 - 2010:

1971 Jack Passard

1972 Mrs. Nels Wagensteen

1973 C.N. Mickelson & Alma Groth

1974 Fay Casper & Inga Schrupp

1975 Joe Severson & Lottie Severson

1976 Lars Johnson & Hazel Medved

1977 Floyd Booth & Clara Miller

1978 Neil Kleinendorst & Edna Dunkleberger

1979 Nathan Daynard & Mabel Kleinendorst

1980 Joe Gorence & Mildred Miskovich

1981 Orian Bjeldanes & Gladys Braford

1982 Don Wyss & Alice LaPier

1983 Ted Tinquist & Emelia Kannas-Nurkka

1984 George Otto & Edna Shepard

1985 Ray Wilson & Amelia Greniger

1986 Harvey Rodenz & Dorothy Bradley

1987 Ken Stuart

1988 Peter Anick

1989 Phil Mergler & Mary Beers

1990 1989 Outstanding Seniors were recognized again

1991 Wayne Mills & Thelma Holloway

1992 Myron Nielsen & Anne Turek

1993 Don Rudolph & Grace Hayley

1994 Elmer Sundquist & Grace Baker

1995 Lloyd Nesseth & Valborg (Wallie) Wilson

1996 COA (Itasca County Committee on Aging)

1997 Emelia Nurkka & Phil Mergler

1998 June Platisha & Stan Hynek

1999 Ray Graupmann & Lina Jacobson

2000 Kathleen LeClair

2001 Lois Williams

2002 Bud Germ & Jean Roope

2003 Florence Soderberg

2004 Bea Foix

2005 Robert & Shirley Blum

2006 Isabel Hart

2007 Tom & Barb Ryan

2008 Lorraine Linser

2009 Gerald Stejskal & Helen Rudolph

2010 Clyde Newton & Margaret Sexton

Welcome to the discussion.

Find us on Facebook

Herald-Review e-Edition

MINE e-Edition

Mine VII

Updated: 2:07 pm | See more

Featured Events